It works!

What are your favorite brands and why?

Most of the brands that I am loyal to are brands that started in childhood.

I suspect this is largely due to the prevalence of advertising on children’s programs, especially in the 1980’s when children really only had one or two channels to choose from for entertainment at very specific times.

This means I still like Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. I will ONLY accept Kellogg’s brand Frosted Flakes, (meaning no weird off brand flaked whatever’s).

I will only buy Band-Aid band brand bandages even though in my heart I know the store ones are just fine and it really doesn’t matter. I just can’t help it because the stupid jingle pops in my head while I’m in the aisle.

The ultimate proof of this was when I started smoking, I smoked Camel cigarettes. Joe Camel was awesome. I thought he was cool when I was a kid and, while I don’t think he influenced my decision to smoke, (that was more the ten friends around me who were already doing it at the time), I definitely think he influenced my brand choice. Just like I think the Marlboro Man influenced many of my gentleman friends to pick up Marlboro reds for the first time.

So yeah.

Advertising is a powerful thing, especially if you can get it in to the faces of little children.

It may stay with them for life!

Image from Pexels.

Leave a comment