Cravings

These chocolate covered strawberries are from Berries.com, but I’m pretty sure I’d be happy with homemade ones right now.

Cravings for sweet things is one of the nastier side effects of some psychiatric medications. As in, “give me a bowl of sugar and a spoon, please.”

Today I want chocolate covered strawberries in the worst way. No I am not pregnant. I’m just on an antidepressant and antipsychotic that make me want carbohydrates and sweets.

Thankfully, I don’t have access to strawberry deliciousness, at least not anywhere convenient, and so my jeans are safe for another day.

Weight gain is real. I’ve personally gained around 50 pounds since starting psychiatric medications back in 2008. I know people who have gained a lot more. I have gone up four dress sizes as well. It’s unnerving.

My diet hasn’t changed for the worse. I actually think it has substantially improved. I would probably be one of the unlucky ones who gained closer to 100 pounds if I hadn’t had made dietary changes.

I definitely could move more and work some exercise into my life. However, to be honest, when showering is more than I can handle 75% of the time, getting on a treadmill or an elliptical machine, no matter how convenient, is kind of unrealistic. I know exercise releases endorphins and makes you feel better blah blah but really. I have to feel well enough to start and I just don’t.

Today I am not eating chocolate. That’s my victory.

One thought on “Cravings

Leave a Reply

