Helpful

Living with a chronic illness of any type, whether its migraines or Bipolar Disorder (both of which I live with), is definitely a challenge. 

One of the more interesting aspects of daily life with chronic illness is fielding all of the “helpful” suggestions from friends, family, acquaintances and total strangers. I have been told to pierce things, rub oils on my head, burn certain kinds of incense, rub herbs on my palms and soles of my feet,  sniff scents, drink all sorts of concoctions, eat infused baked goods, etc. They seem to think that these are a Panacea for every ailment.

All of these folks mean well, but I want to let them know that I have been living with these issues now for a couple of decades so I’ve tried all of the “natural” things I am going to try. 

It’s hard not to become exasperated with what is really just a well-meaning person. 

I mean, I am SUPER happy for someone if something works for them. I’m not even discounting that some of these things work for people. I just haven’t had any luck. 

Maybe it’s the not having had any luck, combined with the zillions of appointments I already attend, that just wears me out. 

How about you? How do you feel about this kind of thing?

2 thoughts on “Helpful

Leave a Reply

