Random

I saw the Daily Prompt was Egg and this story is the first thing that popped into my head:

Four years ago in October (seems like it was October), I went camping with my cousin and her husband so he could go Salmon fishing up north. The season is very short here and it’s a huge deal. 

I am an experienced camper. I used to go with my Dad at least once a year as a kid for a week or longer in the rustic campgrounds and rough it. He was a Boy Scout forever so it wasn’t very rough. He built us chairs out of twigs and twine and coooked full meals in the camp Dutch oven. 

With this childhood experience under my belt, I figured I could handle a little late-fall camping up north. 

What I didn’t count on was the inexperience of my fellow campers. They did not listen to my briefing about the importance of a trench around the tent. They didn’t listen to my concerns about the angles of the tarp. 

My fatal flaw? Choosing egg-crate type foam as my padding under my sleeping bag in the tent. It was free. 

Soooooo… it was late fall in Michigan so it Rained. Capital “R.” Storms and storm warnings. I had to skip my evening meds so I could be alert for major warnings.

Water POURED into this tent from the bottom seams. My egg crate soaked it up like a sponge. My cousins, on their deflating air mattress (which is why I never use those things) floated on over to see what the fuss was about.

As I explained my predicament, laughter ensued and it was decided I should sleep in the truck. Since my appearance and overall demeanor was one of a nearly drowned cat, I didn’t argue.

I can honestly say that was the last time I went camping. 

(I know this has nothing to do with bipolar disorder really but we all need to laugh). 

Image from Wikipedia 

2 thoughts on “Random

    1. I agree. I love camping despite my wet story. I would go more often, but my cousins now have two little ones and I’m not one to attempt it alone. Perhaps when the kids get a little older. Diapers and camping is a possible thing, but less fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

